TreeAlive

Glasgow

Howard County · On the grounds of Glasgow High School. State Highway 5. · location approximate

Directions to the area ↗

Side 1: Here along the scenic river bluffs where the Missouri forms a natural port, Glasgow was laid out, 1836. Named for pioneer James Glasgow, it was the first successful town in this general area. Chariton, Monticello, and Thorntonsburg, earlier towns which failed, did not have Glasgow's fine location. Glasgow grew as a major shipping point. By 1860, it was the hub of central Missouri's flourishing tobacco trade. The Glasgow to Huntsville plank road finished, 1854, added to the general prosperity. In the Civil War, Confederates under Gen. J. B. Clark, Gen. J. O. Shelby, and Col. S. D. Jackman captured the town held by Federals under Col. Chester Harding, Oct. 15, 1864. The Methodist Church, built in 1849, was used as a hospital. In the postwar period, Glasgow benefited with the coming of the Mo. and Miss. R. R. (Wabash) and Chicago and Alton (G. M. & O.) in the 1870's. The first all-steel bridge in the world was built over the Missouri here by the Chicago and Alton for the railroad, 1879. Gen. Wm. Sooy Smith was construction engineer. This bridge was replaced in 1900. The highway bridge dates from 1925. Side 2: Shipping point and trading town, Glasgow lies in the famed Boon's Lick Region on the west central boundary of Howard County. In the early 1800's, pioneers from Tenn., Va., and Ky. made first permanent settlements. Early educational center, Glasgow's first chartered school was a female academy in 1849. In 1866-67 the nonsectarian Pritchett Institute (College), named for first principal Carr W. Pritchett, was founded by tobacco merchant, Southern Methodist clergyman J. O. Swinney. The once well known Morrison Observatory was a gift to the school, 1874, by Berenice Morrison-Fuller. Astronomer H. S. Pritchett taught here. School closed, 1922. Lewis College was founded here in 1867 under the Methodist Episcopal Church by the family of tobacco merchant Benjamin W. Lewis including his brother, James W.; son, Benj. W. Jr.; and wife, Eleanor Turner Lewis. Local artist Cornelia A. Kuemmel taught at the college. The last school year was 1892. Lewis Memorial Public Library was founded under the M. E. Church with a bequest from Benj. W. Lewis in 1866. His family gave the building, now oldest library building in Mo.

1950s text, presented as a historical document. It uses the period's terms for Native people. The Society's journal printed these inscriptions as continuous text, not in the form they are cast on the markers.

The State Historical Society of Missouri created these markers with the State Highway Commission and tells their fuller story in its book Marking Missouri History. Current marker program ↗

Barry Lawrence Ruderman Map Collection, Stanford Libraries

Report a problem with this page

We may pass what you report to the state's marker program. Please don't include personal details.

Marker data: "Missouri's Program for Highway Historic Marking", Missouri Historical Review, 1955-1960, State Historical Society of Missouri

More markers nearby

See your own family's places through time.

Start with your family tree

Privacy Policy