TreeAlive

Boonville-Franklin

Cooper County · In the Forts of 1812 Roadside Park, east of Boonville. U. S. Route 40. · location approximate

Directions to the area ↗

Side 1: Boonville, early prosperous river town, was first settled, 1810, by Hannah Cole, a widow, and her 9 children. A neighborhood fort was built at her place in the War of 1812. In 1817 the town, named for Daniel Boone, was laid out and became the seat of newly organized Cooper County, named for Sarshall Cooper, pioneer. Here was the first State fair in Missouri, 1853. On June 17, 1861, here, in the first engagement of the Civil War in Missouri, Federals under Lyon defeated State Guard under Marmaduke. Thespian Hall (now Lyric), oldest theater in use west of the Alleghenies, was built, 1855-57. Kemper Military School opened as a boarding school, 1844; and the Episcopal Church was built, 1846. In 1889 the Missouri Training School for Boys was opened. Here lived David Barton, U. S. Senator, 1821-1831; Lon V. Stephens, governor, 1897-1901; and the journalist and educator, Walter Williams. Here, where Hannah Cole once operated a ferry, 2 bridges cross the river. On the north bank was "Old" Franklin, Boon's Lick Trail end and start of Santa Fe Trail. Side 2: Franklin, founded across the river from Boonville, 1816, was once the metropolis of the Boon's Lick Country, a central Missouri region taking its name from a salt lick in the area worked by the sons of Daniel Boone. Here was the first land office north of the Missouri River, 1818, and the first newspaper, 1819, the "Missouri Intelligencer and Boon's Lick Advertiser." First steamboat up the Missouri, the "Independence," docked, 1819. From 1817-28 Franklin served as seat of Howard Co. Encroachment of the river brought town abandonment beginning with the laying out of New Franklin, 1828. From Franklin, William Becknell, "Father of the Santa Fe Trail," led, 1821, the first successful trading expedition to Santa Fe and took the first wagons over the route, 1822. Jacks and jennets brought back were the founding stock of Missouri's mules. John Miller, governor, 1826-32, lived here, and here Kit Carson was apprenticed to a saddler and George Caleb Bingham's father ran a hotel. In the vicinity are sites of family forts of the War of 1812.

1950s text, presented as a historical document. It uses the period's terms for Native people. The Society's journal printed these inscriptions as continuous text, not in the form they are cast on the markers.

The State Historical Society of Missouri created these markers with the State Highway Commission and tells their fuller story in its book Marking Missouri History. Current marker program ↗

Barry Lawrence Ruderman Map Collection, Stanford Libraries

Report a problem with this page

We may pass what you report to the state's marker program. Please don't include personal details.

Marker data: "Missouri's Program for Highway Historic Marking", Missouri Historical Review, 1955-1960, State Historical Society of Missouri

More markers nearby

See your own family's places through time.

Start with your family tree

Privacy Policy