Side 1:
Columbia, educational center of Missouri, originated in the town of Smithton, laid out by the Smithton Land Company, 1819. By 1821, when the name was changed, the town was the seat of Boone Co., organized, 1820, and named for Daniel Boone who died that year in St. Charles Co., Missouri.
Here, between St. Louis and Kansas City, in the famed old Boon's Lick Country, are the University of Missouri, chartered 1839, first state university west of Mississippi; Christian College, first school of college rank for women chartered in Missouri, 1851; and Stephens College, chartered 1857, which traces its beginnings to Columbia Female Academy, 1833.
The offices and outstanding Missouriana library and historical art collections of the State Historical Society of Missouri are in Columbia. Founded in 1898, the Society has now the largest state historical society membership in the U. S. Here also are the offices of the Missouri Press, Missouri State Teachers, and Missouri Farmers' associations; and here are the Ellis Fischel State Cancer, Boone Co., and University hospitals.
Side 2:
Columbia, settled mainly by Kentuckians and Virginians, in a beautiful scenic region, was early an educational center with several academies and a college by 1833.
When the Geyer Act created a state university, 1839, Columbia and Boone Co. won the location with a subscription of $117,900. They again gave materially when the University became a land-grant college, first west of Mississippi, 1870. Expansion of the University stems from this date. Prior to this it suffered from Civil War unrest and occupation of this pro-Southern town by Union troops whose headquarters were at the University. Among prominent University divisions is the 1908 School of Journalism, first of its kind in the world.
Memorials on the campuses of Stephens and Christian colleges and the University honor the leaders and benefactors of the schools. Among sites of interest on the University campus are the columns of its first building; Thomas Jefferson gravestone; Memorial Tower; and Sanborn (Agr. Exper.) Field. In town are the old courthouse columns and a Boon's Lick Trail marker.
1950s text, presented as a historical document. It uses the period's terms for Native people. The Society's journal printed these inscriptions as continuous text, not in the form they are cast on the markers.
The State Historical Society of Missouri created these markers with the State Highway Commission and tells their fuller story in its book Marking Missouri History. Current marker program ↗