Side 1:
This Ozark plateau town, 1120 feet above sea level, was a "Child of the Railroad." On a natural passageway to southwest Missouri, midway between St. Louis and Springfield, this site was chosen by the Southwestern Branch of the Pacific Railway for an office and warehouses, 1855.
Rolla became the county seat of Phelps County when E. W. Bishop, one-time associated with the railroad, donated 50 acres of land for this purpose, 1858. Court was held in the railroad office for a time. The county name honors John S. Phelps, later Missouri Governor. The town name is probably a phonetic adaptation of Raleigh, N. C., but conjecture also credits other theories. Early settlers found a source of saltpeter for gunpowder in nearby caves.
During the Civil War Rolla, strategically located at the terminus of a railway, was a great Federal military encampment. After Lyon's defeat and death at Wilson's Creek, 1861, his troops retreated here. Curtis with 12,000 men left here for the decisive Union victory at Pea Ridge, Ark., 1862. The sites of Forts Wyman and Dette, within town limits, recall elaborate Civil War fortifications.
Side 2:
The University of Missouri School of Mines and Metallurgy, early school of mines in U. S., was opened in 1871. The school has a notable mineral museum. Also in Rolla are the State Trachoma Hospital, first such institution in U. S., completed, 1939; Missouri Geological Survey offices; and Federal Bureau of Mines and U. S. Geological Survey branch offices.
At St. James, 10 miles northeast, are the State Federal Soldiers Home, founded, 1897; and Missouri Boys Town, youth conservation project, opened, 1949. Near St. James is Rosati (formerly Knobview), an Italian settlement famed for its grape production.
Maramec Iron Works, 7 miles southeast of St. James, is site of first major commercial iron furnaces in Missouri, 1826. Near the iron works is lovely Meramec Spring, which has an average flow of 96 million gallons daily.
Part of Mark Twain National Forest falls in the area which abounds in caves, streams, springs, highland views, and Indian mounds.
In nearby Pulaski Co., 26 miles southwest, is Fort Leonard Wood, U. S. Army training post.
1950s text, presented as a historical document. It uses the period's terms for Native people. The Society's journal printed these inscriptions as continuous text, not in the form they are cast on the markers.
The State Historical Society of Missouri created these markers with the State Highway Commission and tells their fuller story in its book Marking Missouri History. Current marker program ↗