Lunenburg County
Lunenburg County, organized in 1746, was named for King George II, Duke of Brunswick-Lüneburg. Nine counties were later formed from this “Mother of Counties.” British Lt. Col. Banastre Tarleton raided here during the Revolutionary War, as did Union Brig. Gens. James H. Wilson and August V. Kautz during the Civil War. Tobacco was transported to auction on plank roads, and later railroads, making Kenbridge a major market town. Bright leaf tobacco was a staple throughout the 20th century. After 1909, Victoria became a hub on the Virginian Railway, which transported coal from West Virginia to Tidewater. The 1827 courthouse in Lunenburg village reflects Thomas Jefferson’s architectural influence.
Side 2:
Mecklenburg County
Formed from Lunenburg County in 1764, Mecklenburg County is named for Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, consort of King George III. Randolph-Macon College opened here in 1832 and moved to Ashland in 1868. The John H. Kerr Dam and much of its 50,000-acre reservoir, known as Buggs Island Lake, as well as part of Lake Gaston, lie within the county. Occoneechee State Park, near Clarksville, was established in 1968. Boydton is the county seat. The Roman Revival courthouse there, which reflects elements of Thomas Jefferson’s architectural style in its design, was completed in 1842.