TreeAlive
← All Delaware markers

Queen Anne’s Railroad

Sussex County · dedicated 1997 · 684 Chestnut Street, Milton

Get directions ↗

Original Text 1997: In February 1895, the Delaware Legislature authorized the Queen Anne’s Railroad, a Maryland corporation formed the previous year, to extend its lines across the state to Lewes. Their goal was to establish a direct link between Baltimore and the coast. The western terminus was at Queenstown, Maryland, with connections from there to Baltimore via steamship. The eastern terminus provided travelers with access to the Rehoboth resort via rail, and steamship connection with Cape May, New Jersey. This was the last major railroad built on the Delmarva peninsula. Over forty years had passed since the first of several unsuccessful effort to bring a railway to Milton. On August 29, 1897, the first passenger train arrived here, to be greeted by a majority of residents by the town and surrounding countryside. A station was erected on this site in October of that year. Regular passenger and mail service was provided, and a wide variety of freight was shipped and received. For many years Milton was noted for the export of holly and other seasonal greenery to northern cities. In 1905, the Queen Anne’s Railroad was purchased by a subsidiary of the Pennsylvania Railroad. By the mid-1920’s limited profits and competition with other lines owned by that company led to the decision to abandon a large portion of the old railway. Facing that prospect, the Denton to Lewes section was purchased by the Maryland & Delaware Coast Railway. This effort proved to be largely unsuccessful, and passenger service was discontinued in October 1931. Once again slated for abandonment, the Ellendale to Milton line was purchased in 1934 for the purpose of continuing a freight link to the town via rail. It would become the last significant operable section of the old Queen Anne’s Railroad. Reinstallation Text 2023: In February 1885, the Delaware Legislature authorized the Queen Anne’s Railroad, a Maryland corporation formed the previous year, to extend its lines across the state to Lewes, to establish a direct link between Baltimore and the coast. On August 29, 1897, the first passenger train arrived here greeted by residents of the town and surrounding countryside. A station was erected on this site in October of that year. Regular passenger and mail service was provided, and a wide variety of freight was shipped and received. Passenger service was discontinued in October 1931. This was the last major railroad built on the Delmarva peninsula.

David Rumsey Map Collection, Stanford Libraries

Report a problem with this page

We may pass what you report to the state's marker program. Please don't include personal details.

Source: State of Delaware Historical Markers Program, administered by the Delaware Public Archives.
TreeAlive is an independent project and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by the State of Delaware or the Delaware Public Archives.

More markers nearby

See your own family's places through time.

Start with your family tree

Privacy Policy