WOODSTOCK
Near this place, in 1636, Thomas Hooker and his party may have passed by way
of the Connecticut Path, going to settle what is now Hartford.
In 1674 John Eliot, Apostle to the Indians, Pastor of the First Church in
Roxbury, Massachusetts Bay Colony, and Major Daniel Gookin visited a peaceful
encampment of Wabbaquassets living in the vicinity of present-day Woodstock
and sought to preach from nearby Eliot Rock, and sought to establish their
church among the natives of these lands.
King Philip's War broke out in 1675, during which the Wabbaquassets deserted
the area.
The site was chosen as a place of settlement, and here on April 5, 1686, from
Roxbury came
Peter Aspinwall John Gore
Thomas Bacon Benjamin Griggs
Henry Bowen George Griggs
Matthew Davis John Marcy
John Frizzel Ebenezer Morris
Nathaniel Gary Benjamin Sabin
Jonathan Smithers
known as the Thirteen Goers to found the Town of New Roxbury, the first
European settlement in the area that became Windham County.
(Continued on other side)
WOODSTOCK
(Continued from other side)
Given the name "Woodstock" by Judge Samuel Sewall in 1690 "...because of its
nearness to Oxford, for the sake of Queen Elizabeth...," the Town remained a
part of the Massachusetts Bay Colony until 1749, when it seceded in favor of
becoming a part of the Connecticut Colony.
From these hills went Captain, later General, Samuel McClellan following the
alarums sounded from Lexington and Concord in 1775, together with 184 men, who
responded in a greater number than from any other town in the Colony.
Born here were Jedediah Morse, the "father of American geography," and Henry
C. Bowen, founder of the INDEPENDENT, a pre-Civil War anti-slavery newspaper;
builder of Roseland Cottage; benefactor of Woodstock Academy, founded in 1801;
and donor of Roseland Park.
The many small rural industries of 19th century Woodstock are now represented
by the making of electrical components and plastics in a community mainly
agricultural and residential.
Text transcribed from the cast town markers erected under Connecticut's town historical marker program in the 1970s and early 1980s. Presented as a historical record.