MERIDEN
1661 - Meriden area first settled when Jonathan Gilbert is granted land by
Connecticut Colony and employs Edward Higbee to operate an inn.
1670 - Greater part of present-day Meriden lands placed under jurisdiction of
Wallingford.
1728 - Separate church parish, named after Gilbert's farm Merridan, is
established by the General Assembly.
1806 - Meriden separated from Wallingford and organized as a town.
1867 - Meriden incorporated as a city.
1922 - Town and City of Meriden consolidated.
Since the 19th Century Meriden has demonstrated itself to be a versatile
manufacturing community. Its silver industry [illegible -- remainder of the
panel is obscured by a clipped hedge in the only Commons photograph; at least
two further cast lines exist and are not recovered]
MERIDEN
(Continued from other side)
Lexington Alarm
*Captain John Couch, responding to hostilities with the British at Lexington,
left this area April 23, 1775, commanding the Meriden militia:
John Allen Christopher Atwater Moses Baldwin
*Divan Berry Samuel Briggs John Butler
Samuel Collins Asael Deming Israel Hall, Jr.
Joel Hall *Moses Hall Rufus Hall Samuel Hall
*Benjamin Hart *Insign Hough John Hough
Phineas Hough Aaron Hull David Ives
Elnathan Ives Enos Ives Samuel Johnson
Epaphras Knott Isaac Livingston
*Phineas Lyman Daniel McMullen
*Ephraim Merriam John Merriam John Pearce
*Benjamin Rice *Ezekiel Rice Gideon Rice
Samuel Rice Joseph Shaylor Seth Smith
Bela Warner *Jonathan Yale *Nathaniel Yale
*Buried in Broad Street Cemetery
Cast text is cropped in the only photograph and breaks off mid line; the unrecovered run is marked [illegible] in the transcription. No cast footer year recovered.
Text transcribed from the cast town markers erected under Connecticut's town historical marker program in the 1970s and early 1980s. Presented as a historical record.